New dawn…daily prompt

I love dawn…when I managed to wake early…which is not very often ๐Ÿ™‚ . It’s a perfect time to spot different birds and hear their calls, though I don’t understand most of them. My bird watching hobby extends only up to spotting the bird, watching it while my mind is dancing for having spotted it and if I have a camera in hand, taking a snap ๐Ÿ™‚ . Mostly I’m too lazy to wake before 7 or 7.30 on office days and 9 or 10 on weekends.

There have been special occasions though… ๐Ÿ™‚ . It has been a tradition in our home to stay and celebrate the new year with family rather than go out with friends. Generally we used to watch the programs for new year they gave on TV, cook some favourite dishes and stay up till 12. One year though, I thought of doing something different. That year my grandpa was also with us. I knew he would not really enjoy watching these programs. So we slept at our normal time…and woke up at five thirty the next morning. The idea was to watch the first dawn of the next year ๐Ÿ™‚ . Cool idea isn’t it ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

We have a place near our home which is on a sort of hill. You can reach by your car… many people come there for morning walk. So there we were, all up and ready to watch the first sunrise of coming year. There was some light and few people were already up and about their daily walks. We had reached early and waited and waited for the sun to come up. Firstly it took some time to fix the direction from where it would come up ๐Ÿ˜€ (morning sky all looks the same and unless u know east from west, it is hard to find sun ;)). The morning breeze and December cold had us putting our hands in pockets and draped in mufflers and scarfs and what not. So thus we waited for the lord of the sky to show us his first glimpse.

And there it was…slowly coming up…a shining ball of red and orange…gradually lighting up the whole sky with morning colours. It was a beautiful sight as sunrise or sunsets always are; and watching with my family made it even more special. There are other occasions but this one I remembered prominently. ย Perhaps it is to write this post, I might have had that idea at the time…who knows ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

4 thoughts on “New dawn…daily prompt

  1. nice idea!! But I feel creepy about the closing sentence ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚
    But frankly, 100 or 150 years before when there was less electrification of the world, I am sure that the spectacle of the rising ball of fire must have been the best way to kick-start the day! Fast forward 150 years, we don’t care about the Sun, anymore – Sun is out of his magic gas! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  2. creepy eh ๐Ÿ™‚ ….u don’t believe we are destined to do things..? Like pre-linking of some things that we don’t know but which later fall into place like a puzzle finally making sense…

    fast forward 150 years…it is hard to find sun anymore unless you are on the top of a tower ๐Ÿ˜›

    fast forward another 150 years…will we forget what sunshine meant?

    Like

  3. Yes, I do believe in destiny and stuff to some extent but the post you posted and the new year celebration was little too far fetched for my liking ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚

    And no, fast forward another 150 years, with out trees and rains all we can feel is the suns heat! You know, history repeats itself!! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • yeah…I know it was far-fetched …was just kidding though ๐Ÿ˜‰ …
      didn’t get the reference about history repeating itself…but sunshine and suns heat definitely convey different meanings to me… ๐Ÿ™‚ former I enjoy and latter I avoid..

      Like

Leave me your impressions...

