Overloaded me……Daily Prompt

“Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.” — Gertrude Stein

“What are you doing?” he asked me.

I looked at him, irritated for asking such an obvious question.

“What do you think I do everyday after coming home from office” I retorted.

“Making tea for me obviously”.

He grinned at me while I was looking at him uncomprehendingly.

“And please tell me what is that you are putting in it” he asked again.

I could feel my temper bristling.

“What do u think..sugar obviously..” I said as I opened the lid expertly without looking.

Ignoring his chuckles, thinking something must have gone wrong with his head, I took the spoon to put two spoonfuls of sugar in the tea. Today had been a day of numbers, and the numbers on those excel sheets were still dancing in front of me. The data checking had been simple enough but huge in quantity. But the data verification going on for the last couple of days was finally over today, and I could finally shake hands with them and enter the world of alphabets again. Hush!!! Thinking about it and the cup of steaming tea which was going to be ready in the next five minutes, I smiled a bit to myself.

And suddenly my hand was being stopped by an outside force. Now the rest of the patience snapped and I angrily looked at him to notice a finger pointed at the container in my hand. What is it now, I glanced at it (he must’ve seen another ant in it…where there is sugar there will be ants…obvious isn’t it)….only to realize that my poor overloaded mind already in a trance-like state was on the verge of putting salt instead of sugar in the tea 😀 .

5 thoughts on “Overloaded me……Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Full To The Gills” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave me your impressions...

