Confessions and Daily Prompt

It’s the night before an important event: a big exam, a major presentation, your wedding. How do you calm your nerves in preparation for the big day?

I can’t !!! Simple as that. I cannot calm my nerves or the nervous rumbling in my belly. Break out in a cold sweat. Mind goes blank and mouth goes dry. 😀 In short I become a bhigi billi as we say in Hindi, which can be loosely translated as a frightened kitten with all her hair up. So I will merge this daily prompt with a confession and declare that – I have a tremendous stage fear. There…its out… So far, it has been intuition and whatever I studied and remembered that has carried me through the day 🙂

But I’m steering away from the topic. Exams have never frightened me much. I was neither a brilliant student nor too average. I scored good. But the main reason always was that their has never been such kind of a pressure from my parents. They never said to me you have to bring so and so much percentage or forced me to choose some field which I didn’t want. Hence, there has never been nervousness regarding exams.

As to wedding 🙂 ….well I was the happiest person in my world that time…their was no place for nervousness.

Answering to the daily prompt about how do I calm the nerves, I try (doesn’t mean it happens) to ignore and not think about the big event, try to focus on something else. Sometimes it works, sometimes doesn’t 🙂

13 thoughts on “Confessions and Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Big Day Ahead | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Stage fright… I haven’t been on a stage since my graduation from university a couple years ago and I remember feeling a bit uncomfortable. Since I did not have to talk, I think it was fine. I think it is a very common fear where people feel nervous and anxious. Some actors even go as far as saying those who do not feel nervous on stage are just too cocky and therefore, not as good! So it may be a good thing 🙂

    Like

  3. Lol @ Bheegi Billi ! I used to pretty confident before but now I don’t know what happened, I too sweat and shiver !
    Exams do make me nervous, not because of any reasons you mentioned either but they do…man I become a Zombie in those days ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Big Day Ahead | Blogged With Words

Leave me your impressions...

