Belated sorry……..Daily Prompt

Someone’s left you a voicemail message, but all you can make out are the last words: “I’m sorry. I should’ve told you months ago. Bye.” Who is it from, and what is this about?

Sorry said her voice..
having me surprised..
what could it be for..
We met just an hour before..
Why didn’t she say on face..
or did she fear my anger..
head buzzing with thoughts..
Finally decided to ask her..
Surprise and worry in her eyes..
as she saw me in just an hour’s time..
face softening with laughter lines..
as I asked what her garbled message means..
I had lost your favourite book she said..
and thought to apologize on phone instead..
should’ve known your reluctance to tech..
and wrote a letter rather than voicemail..
my stomach dropped to my feet..
thinking of the loss of that book..
then I remembered, in a flash..
no use getting angry with her now..
it was returned just last week, safe and sound..

12 thoughts on “Belated sorry……..Daily Prompt

Leave me your impressions...

