Spinning yarns………………..Daily Prompt

What makes a good storyteller, in your opinion? Are your favorite storytellers people you know or writers you admire?

๐Ÿ™‚ This one made me smile instantly. My favourite storyteller…my grandpa!! ๐Ÿ˜€ The way he narrated his stories! We (here includes me, bro and cousins) would all sit enraptured until it finished. The stories would range from Ramayan, Mahabharat, Ramdas Swami and his disciples to real life funny and some serious incidences during his professional career. He was a civil engineer in government department and had to frequently travel throughout Maharashtra in any season. I remember one of our favourites, when he was in Mumbai, on the sea, and there was high tide, torrential rains and possibility of flood. One of his colleagues or someone he knew (don’t remember exactly) predicted that the world is going to drown, so he climbed up a hill saying I will watch the flooding from here ๐Ÿ˜€ . We were introduced to Indian mythology by grandpa. And he was a fabulous story teller, though at times, with age probably, he tended to mix up some references. It was our grandma who corrected him that time, and then told us the correct story, while we secretly giggled listening to their dialogue ๐Ÿ˜€ .

Another storyteller in our family is my uncle. He is an expert in telling ghost stories. Him and my aunt live in a sort of village, so whenever we went there in vacations (which was often) we used to urge him to tell ghost stories. And he so expertly weaved them with the village surrounding that I was many times fooled to think it was real ๐Ÿ˜€ . Even now they both remember and have good laugh at my expense ๐Ÿ˜€ . I remember once he told a story and I was so charged that I challenged him saying I will go to that place without getting afraid ๐Ÿ˜€ . Ah such innocent I was in those times ๐Ÿ™‚

Well friends, today’s is a fab subject!! Happy Blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Spinning yarns………………..Daily Prompt

Leave me your impressions...

