Simple Realizations

I realized today that I have no idea how to handle a new broom. I know, I know.. its silly!! And all those witches reading this must be laughing at me thinking, nowadays these humans don’t even know simple things. What is so complicated about it!! Just put the other leg across, sit on the broom and tap it with your leg….and up you go… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ . But, my dear witches, me being a poor human and all, was thinking more on the lines of normal uses of a broom like cleaning the house, you know the kind of work which you do with a swipe of your hand probably πŸ˜‰ .

Jokes being apart, my maid is on a long long (5 days does feel too long for me) leave. So, the house cleaning job is upto me. Had I paid heed to her earlier, I would have bought a broom before and now would be comfortable, it being used and worn out. But no! Procrastination is my motto. So, on an emergency basis (meaning the older broom reduced to such a pathetic state that using it means creating more garbage than cleaning πŸ˜€ ), I bought a new one today. I knew that at the starting of using a new broom, some sawdust type particles keep falling out and they reduce as we keep using the broom. So, very confidently I went to the terrace gave the newer member a welcome of 4-5 strong shakes. A small heap of those particles fell down. Thinking that the broom is now usable, I started cleaning the house. Sigh!! The particles still kept falling and falling thus increasing my work and time consumed to twice the normal. Another long sigh!!

And that’s when I realized, since the new broom is always inaugurated by the maid, I have never had to use it before and had no idea what to do in such a case as described above. Which also brought to mind my lack of knowledge about this simple thing πŸ™‚ . And though irritated at the time, I was able to see the humour in it all and write this post πŸ˜‰ .

10 thoughts on “Simple Realizations

  1. This one is really interesting Saya. Here at Aurangabad we get plastic and fibre ones, easy to use, long lasting and washable too. You can try for that in departmental stores. BTW Jathin’s suggestion is not bad either. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave me your impressions...

