Feathered surprise

The day turned super-exciting today when we had an unexpected visitor….

A lovely parakeet

A lovely parakeet

I was doing something in the kitchen when me n hubby both heard some odd voices which none of us could place. I thought some kid was playing and making them and since was doing some work in the kitchen, ignored it altogether. It was hubby who while trying to find out the source of voice, came across this lovely visitor ๐Ÿ™‚

And boy were we awed…

None of us spoke for some time while taking in its beauty and colours..while hubby being fond of photography, well you can imagine. Most of these photographs are by him. And this guy or gal (no idea…but I guess its a male…males are beautiful in birds aren’t they..) was merrily making different sounds. Weย counted at least six to seven different sounds.

Hubby being multi-talentedย ๐Ÿ˜‰ …was matching the birdie’s whistling with his own..as close as he could. I could seeย the birdย searching for the source of the sound and probably getting confused when he couldn’t find any of his mates nearby. I wanted to see if he would eat anything. So, braving the idea that if I get close he might fly, I took a plate of fruit and chillies and kept it on the window sill. We could see him getting interested as he came down a few bars, but unfortunately not more than that. I had another idea that probably he needs water…so we kept that too. But nope!! No success…

He then stopped the whistling and started preeningย those lovely colourful feathers, in different poses.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This went on and on while we waited for him to touch something that we had kept. After a while he took to chewing the window knob. Was it chewing or he was sharpening his beak, I don’t know. But it was damn funny ๐Ÿ˜€

Then I had anotherย thought. Remembering that bird feeders are kept on a height, I thought the food and drink that we had kept were too lower and maybe the bird was uncomfortable with that. But we were also afraid that bringing a stool might scare him off. And he did move a few bars up as I neared the window with a stool. Luckily for us, either he had hadย interactions with humans before or this was one fearless birdie ๐Ÿ˜‰ . He went on preening merrily as I kept the stool, looking at me from one corner of his eye. The minute I kept the plate and water on the stool and went behind, he started coming down ๐Ÿ˜€ . And this is what happened..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He didn’t actually eat any pistachios, just removed the shell and went on to the next one. The orange too was eaten like some rich spoiled kid that leaves the fibrous part out and justย eats theย juicy part ๐Ÿ˜€ . Didn’t touchย the chilly or pear. For three hours this wentย on like a show..withย us forgetting our original plans as we welcomed this bird hoping it will return again ๐Ÿ™‚ .

Lets see. Hopes are up!!

Have a great weekend guys and gals! ๐Ÿ™‚

38 thoughts on “Feathered surprise

  1. I wish you could see the smile on my face right now! The biggest joys sometimes come from the smallest surprises !!!! We have sparrows whom we wait for daily by the window and although they are just sparrows they make my day!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ahoy! beauty, What nice a surprise, I wish I had surprises like that. Last time I had a surprise I found out we still had a six pounder ball stuck in our gun deck from our last battle BA HA HA A HA BA HAHA This parrot actually reminds me o’ one me pets I once had his name be David Crockett.

    Liked by 1 person

    • he is a beauty isn’t it ๐Ÿ™‚ the battle must have been an epic one ๐Ÿ˜€ we too had a parakeet as a pet wen I was very small..but it flew one day and den we didn’t have any pets later..

      Like

Leave me your impressions...

